Skip to main content

About Us

Over 100 years of community service.


The Nanaimo Auxiliary to the Nanaimo Regional General Hospital, to give it the full legal name, is a registered charity under the 2015 BC Societies Act.   For over 100 years this Auxiliary has been helping our hospital provide better care and comfort for patients.

Like most Auxiliaries we were formed to supplement the efforts of professional medical staff at the local hospital.   Both by providing volunteers to work at the hospital in non-medical roles, and then organising fundraising through a variety of events.  The result was that our Auxiliary was an integral part of the local hospital administration for many years.

The Auxiliary organised and had responsibility for the volunteer workers at the hospital.  There came a point when our Health Authority realised that this important resource could no longer be left to volunteers to organise and it established its own Volunteer Services Department to undertake responsibility for volunteer workers.

As a result, our Auxiliary decided to realign itself so that the main focus was to raise funds to provide financial support in order to improve care and comfort at our hospital.   We set up a Thrift Store and expanded the Hospital Gift Shop.  The result is that every year we are able to donate about half a million dollars for the purchase of items and services at NRGH.



The name of the society is The Nanaimo Auxiliary to the Nanaimo Regional General Hospital.

The purpose of the society is:

To provide financial support for
a) the improvement of healthcare services at Nanaimo Regional General Hospital, and
b) healthcare related programs and initiatives within our community.


The Auxiliary is governed by a Board of Directors, who like the rest of the membership are volunteers.

The roles of the Board Members are defined in the Bylaws.  The term for each Board member is 3 years.  Vacancies on the Board are voted on at the AGM by the membership.

In addition, the Board can appoint Directors at Large, who serve a term of 1 year, which can be renewed.

The Board may hold General Meetings from time to time to present important issues to the membership and to seek their approval.  Such Meetings are held in accordance with our Bylaws.

Executive Board

  • President – Deborah Francis
  • 1st Vice-President – Phil Robling
  • 2nd Vice-President – Pat Sweeney
  • Secretary – Angela Watters
  • Communications Coordinator – Linda Reetham-Clayton
  • Treasurer – Belinda Chan
  • Gift Shop Coordinator – Tammy Kettlewell
  • Thrift Store Coordinator – Marlene Bell
  • Information Systems Coordinator – Ron Orr
  • Craft Group Coordinator – Muriel MacNeil